Circular Labs Forums  

Go Back   Circular Labs Forums > Mobius Discussion > Plugin Hosts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-04-2015, 08:41 PM
Per Boysen's Avatar
Per Boysen Per Boysen is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 504
Default Mobius plugin in BitWig

Hi guys,

I've just tried out Mobius VST plugin hosted in BitWig and can report that it works well. A good thing with BitWig is that although it is a 64 bit coded application it can still host and run 32 bit plugins.

On the downside is that BitWig does not allow external MIDI Clock sync and this makes it impossible for me to run Mobius like I'm used to: Setting Mobius plugin as the global tempo sync master that sends out MIDI Clock through the OS X IAC Bus and then setting the host application (BitWig) to follow as sync slave by the IAC Bus in port. That is not possible, so instead I have to let Mobius run as slave under host sync and be sure to have at least one live sound patch at hand in BitWig that includes a tempo dependent effect to give me the right tempo when starting out playing. I have lately grown used to that approach when using Mobius standalone with the Fractal Audio AxeFxII amp/multieffectprocessor so it's no big deal. I even have a Plan B for starting a concert by non tempo ambient sounds, not knowing the tempo: creating a first loop and then running a Mobius script that slices in every second 32th note by Secondary Feedback and that will give me a good tempo reference.

Two things I like with BitWig, and the reason I'm using it, are the Ableton Push rubber pads grid that sports an excellent support by BitWig and also the fact that BitWig is all about inter modularity; anything can be set to modulate anything (including audio input amplitude). So there you might see the possibilities in this new music software.
__________________
cheers / per
http://www.perboysen.com
http://soundcloud.com/pboy

Last edited by Per Boysen; 04-04-2015 at 08:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-2016, 06:42 AM
buzap buzap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 132
Default

Couldn't resist mentioning:
As long as Bitwig doesn't support time signature changes like Ableton clips do, it is an absolute no-go for me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2016, 05:16 PM
Per Boysen's Avatar
Per Boysen Per Boysen is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 504
Default

Yes, jumping between time signatures is great fun! I'm handling time signatures in Mobius, by the Subcycles value. I keep six fast-buttons to change time signature on the fly: 16 for 4/4, 12 for 3/4 and 6/8, 10 for 5/4, 14 for 7/4, 9 for 9/4 and finally one button to switch the current value into super short quantization (typically to be used for building granular loops out of many short slices/granules).

I don't use Live or Bitwig though, mostly the Mobius standalone or a Bidule host setup.
__________________
cheers / per
http://www.perboysen.com
http://soundcloud.com/pboy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-07-2016, 06:54 AM
buzap buzap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 132
Default

Per, I'm hijacking the thread a bit. I find the subcycle approach interesting. Could be also useful for quantized sustain etc.
When looping with Mobius, I just use cycle as reference. If I stay in the same meter, I use TimeCopy or record a new loop with the new rhythm. If I use different meters, I usually just use one track and multiply, so I don't have problems syncing different tracks there.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2017, 06:35 AM
Tony Tony is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Buenos Aires
Posts: 4
Default Individuals channels between mobius looper and bitwig

Hi Friends!,

I really want to know if it's posible to set mobius output to diferent channels into biwig... I did it into ableton and worked perfectly well, but i can't find the way of doing it into bitwig. Do you know how to do it? could yo explein me how please????

Tahnk a lot, a hug!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2017, 12:51 PM
Per Boysen's Avatar
Per Boysen Per Boysen is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony View Post
Hi Friends!,

I really want to know if it's posible to set mobius output to diferent channels into biwig... I did it into ableton and worked perfectly well, but i can't find the way of doing it into bitwig. Do you know how to do it? could yo explein me how please????

Tahnk a lot, a hug!
Hi Tony;

Try setting up the Mobius outputs in Mobius Track Setup. Then create as many new audio track in Bitwig as you need for the Mobius outputs. Then group them. Finally, on the seven (? or other numbers of Mobius outputs you might be using) other audio track open Bitwigs's Audio Receiver and set it to receive audio from the first group track that is hosting Mobius.

I don't know if this works, as I have no audio interface connected now and can't check it by listening.
__________________
cheers / per
http://www.perboysen.com
http://soundcloud.com/pboy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.